A Contemporary Dancer’s Dream Song List

20120711-131323.jpg

    We Are Gonna Be Friends- 2010

Being a contemporary dancer, I’ve compiled over the years some excellent song choices to choreograph to. Unfortunately I never got to dance to them all, but hopefully I can share them with you in hopes that someday someone out there will. If you love Sonya or Mia from so you think you can dance, this list will be for you.

Quirky

1. Werewolf- Cocorosie
2. Starstruck- Santogold
3. Merry Happy- Kate Nash
4. Lie in our Graves- Dave Matthews Band
5. I am in Love with You- Imogen Heap
6. Until we Bleed- Lykke Li
7. True Affection- The Blow
8. Amy, Amy, Amy- Amy Winehouse
9. Tore my Heart- Oona
10. Give me one good reason to stay- Tracy Chapman
11. Book of Right On- Johanna Newsom

Powerful yet Slow

1. Everywhere I Go- Lissie
2. Shelter – Birdy
3. Addicted to Love- Florence and the Machine
4. Wait it out- Imogen Heap
5. Tonight- Lykke Li
6. How It Ends- Devotchka
7. Eyes on Fire- Blue Foundation
8. Where I stood- Missy Higgins
9. Special Two- Missy Higgins
10. Lost- Anouk
11. Fix you- Coldplay
12. Strawberry Swing- Coldplay
13. Breathe- Sia
14. Chasing Pavements- Adele
15. Hometown Glory- Adele
16. Dancing- Elisa
17. Nine Crimes- Damien Rice
18. Your House (a Capella) – Alanis Morrisette
19. Perfect – Alanis Morrisette
20. Going Under (acoustic) – Evanescense
21. Mad World- Gary Jules
22. The Moment I said it- Imogen Heap
23. To Build a Home- A Cinematic Orchestra

Misfit Songs

1. Breath of Life- Florence and the Machine
2. Sail- Awolnation
3. Seven Devils- Florence and the Machine
4. White Blank Page- Mumford and the Sons
5. The Dance- Charlotte Martin
6. Taking Chances- Celine Dion

I would have tons more if my phone didn’t randomly delete every song I had on its SD card! But I hope this is a good list to look through. I hate long lists of songs anyway, it’s too much to look through!

Love, Eva.

